Sign In

Biodiversity

Bird Diversity
Diversity of birds in the Kingdom
The Kingdom's lands, by virtue of its strategic geographical location between three continents, represent one of the most important pathways of bird migration from north to south and from east to west. Its lands have become an important transit point for many bird species, and it is noted that every year new bird species that come to the Kingdom are recorded, some of them may use new habitats as new sites for reproduction and settlement.
The bird groups represent in the Kingdom belong to three origins; Ethiopian (45 species), ancient Arctic (357 species) and Asian (30 species). Thus, the total number of bird species registered in the Kingdom is (499) species that belong to (67) families, of which (223) breeding species. (19 of them are endemic species that live in the Hijaz and Asir mountains) and among the most common endemic species in the kingdom is the Asir Magpie (Pica asirensis), of which there are only 100 breeding pairs left now. About (276) migratory or kingdom's territory crossing species have been recorded. Migratory or resident birds on the coasts of the Red Sea and the Arabian Gulf find safe havens, especially the Arabian Gulf, where millions of birds, especially wading birds visit. Birds are considered one of the most widespread and distributed vertebrates in all regions of the world, so they are linked to the history, legacy and civilizations of all nations that lived on Earth thousands of years ago.
Most of the true seabirds nesting on the Kingdom's islands are considered a summer visitor, meaning that they come to the islands in the spring and summer periods to nest, and after the end of the season they migrate with their young south outside the Saudi territorial waters, and a few of them wander along the Kingdom's coasts and remain in its territorial waters. There are also seabird species that are considered as transient migratory species, which depend on the coasts of the Kingdom to provide food and rest during their migration from north to south or vice versa.
Waterfowl are usually found in natural wet areas, but in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, these species are using wet areas that humans have created (such as artificial lakes and swamps in farms as well as treated sewage water).
According to the studies conducted to identify the important areas for birds in the Kingdom, about 39 important bird areas have been identified, particularly for species threatened with extinction or globally significant populations. The study of the migration periods of some bird species shows that the species that are found in abundance in the spring are not necessarily found in the same numbers in the fall, especially this fact is evident among roosting birds (those wild species of the size of the pigeon or smaller). As for waterfowl and wading birds in particular the opposite is true, as they are abundant during autumn and are only rarely seen in the spring.
Viewed 1237 time. | Last Update 05/03/2021
Share on

تسجيل الدخول

التنوع الأحيائي

التنوع بالطــــيور
​التنوع بالطــــيور في المملكة 
تمثل أراضي المملكة وبحكم موقعها الجغرافي الإستراتيجي بين ثلاثة قارات أحد أهم مسارات هجرة الطيور من الشمال إلى الجنوب ومن الشرق إلى الغرب. أصبحت أراضيها معبراً مهماً لأنواع عديدة من الطيور، ويلاحظ بأنة كل عام تسجل أنواع جديدة من الطيور تفد للمملكة وقد يستخدم البعض منها البيئات الجديدة كموقع جديد للتكاثر والإستقرار. تنتمي مجموعات الطيور الموجودة في المملكة إلى ثلاثة أصول إثيوبية (45 نوعا) وقطبية قديمة (357 نوعا) وآسيوية (30 نوعا) وبذلك يبلغ إجمالي عدد أنواع الطيور المسجلة في المملكة (499) نوعا تنتمي إلى (67) عائلة منها (223) نوعا متكاثرة (منها 19 نوعاً متوطناً تعيش في جبال الحجاز وعسير) ومن أعن الأتواع المتوطنة بالمملكة هو العقعق العسيري (Pica asirensis) والذي لا يوجد منه سوى 100 زوج متكاثر الأن. وسجل حوالي (276) مهجراً أو عابراً لأراضي المملكة. وتجد الطيور المهاجرة أو المقيمة في سواحل البحر الأحمر والخليج العربي ملاذات آمنة خاصة الخليج العربي حيث ترتاده ملايين الطيور وخاصة الطيور الخواضة . وتعتبر الطيور من أكثر الفقاريات إنتشاراً وتوزيعاً في جميع مناطق العالم، لذى فهي مرتبطة بتاريخ وإرث وحضارات جميع الأمم التي عاشت على الأرض منذ الآف السنين. 
ومعظم الطيور البحرية الحقيقية المعششة على جزر المملكة تعتبر زائرة صيفية، أي أنها تأتي للجزر في فترة الربيع والصيف للتعشيش، وبعد نهاية الموسم تهاجر مع صغارها جنوباً خارج المياه الإقليمية السعودية، والقليل منها يتجول على سواحل المملكة ويبقى في مياهها الإقليمية. كما أن هناك أنواع من الطيور البحرية تعتبر مهاجرة عابرة تتوقف على سواحل المملكة للتزود بالغذاء والراحة خلال هجرتها من الشمال للجنوب أو العكس.  
وتتواجد الطيور المائية عادة في مناطق رطبة طبيعية، إلا أنها في اللملكة العربية السعودية أصبحت تلك الأنواع تستخدم المناطق الرطبة التي قام الإنسان بإنشائها (مثل البحيرات الصناعية والمستنقعات في المزارع وكذلك مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة).
ومن واقع الدراسات التي إجريت في المناطق الهامة للطيور بالمملكة، تمت تحديد حوالي 39 منطقة هامة للطيور وخاصة لأنواع مهددة بالإنقراض أو أعداد مهمة عالمياً. ويتضح دراسة فترات الهجرة لبعض أنواع الطيور أن الأنواع التي توجد بكثرة في الربيع ليست بالضرورة أن توجد بنفس الأعداد في الخريف، خاصة هذه الحقيقة تكون واضحة لدى الطيور الجاثمة (تلك الأنواع البرية من حجم الحمامة واصغر). أما الطيور المائية والخواضة على وجه الخصوص فإنها عكس ذلك، حيث تتواجد بكثرة في فصل الخريف ولا تشاهد إلا نادراً في فصل الربيع.   





عدد القراءات 3362 قراءة | أخر تحديث 28/10/2020
شارك على